My love affair with books

March 13, 2013

When I was a young girl I broke my leg and was confined to my bed for quite a few weeks. It was summer and all I wanted was to be outside with my friends but it just wasn’t possible. Thanks to my older brothers and sister I really was able to start to appreciate reading. They all helped me to learn to read better and all 3 went to the library for me to pick out books for me. My sister got me started with Laura Ingalls Wilder and her Little House books (books which have always held a special place in my heart), my brothers got me going on The Hardy Boys by Franklin W. Dixon and Tom Swift.

By the end of summer I was reading the books on my own and this started my lifelong love affair with books. All kinds of books, from children’s stories to non fiction

Lethal Warriors: When the New Band of Brothers Came Home

Lethal Warriors: When the New Band of Brothers Came Home

to adult fiction
Charmeine (The Light-Bearer, #1)

Charmeine (The Light-Bearer #1)

by Emily Guido

I read any books I can get my hands on. Of course there are some genres I prefer over others (I am always up for a good mystery) but even genres that aren’t my first choice to read have some amazing books.

 

5 Responses to “My love affair with books”


  1. Wow!!!!!! I am so honored!!! You have made my day, week, year!!!! Thank you for taking a chance on reading my indie unknown book! Lots of love, Emily


  2. Reblogged this on "The Light-Bearer Series" Novelist, Emily Guido and commented:
    This well known reviewer, Susan Ashcraft took a chance on an unknown indie author….thanks to all who take chances and read indie authors!!!! Lots of love, Emily

  3. Teepee12 Says:

    Reading gives us all wings on which we can fly. When life is too real, a book takes you to another place, another time, another universe. Lovely story 🙂


  4. […] My love affair with books (susansbookreview.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

