END ePIRACY!

March 31, 2013

I must admit that I didn’t really think much about ePiracy until I read a blog post by my author friend Emily Guido. http://emilyguido.com/

I haven’t thought much about ePiracy because it just isn’t something that I would consider doing. I wouldn’t go into a bookstore grab a book I want and then walk out without paying because I want it. That’s theft! So going onto a site on my computer and taking a download of an eBook without paying for it is the same thing, its theft! Now there are times when I receive a free eBook in exchange for reviewing the book. But it is with the understanding that the book is for my eyes only and not for me to share with everyone I know. Also if you rent from an online library, that’s okay as the author has received some payment for making their book available for the library.

I can only imagine how difficult it must be to be an author. Specially an author just starting out who say doesn’t have a big publishing company behind them. When first starting they are responsible for writing, editing, rewriting, reediting, all things to do with copy writing, finding a publisher or self publishing and the list goes on. And on. And on…They should be compensated for all the time and effort they put into their work, just as you and I would want to be compensated for any work we did.

So why is it that some people think they deserve a copy of an eBook because they think it is too expensive, or because it takes too long to become available where they live.  What is with that? Are you going to hold up a theater house because the movie you want to see won’t be coming to your town for a few more weeks? And just how cheap should an eBook be?

Come on people, start acting responsibly! If you can’t afford to buy the book, get a library card…its cheap and free! Want to show your appreciation to an author? Pay for their books don’t just take them!

My hat is off to all authors out there who try to make the world a brighter place by sharing their stories and imagination with all of us. Thank you!

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “END ePIRACY!”

  1. cav12 Says:

    Hear, Hear! I read Emily’s post too. Too many people think they are owed things and don’t have to pay. Like you stated, emerging writers are struggling enough as it is without thieves stealing. Time for greater controls to put in place to stop epiracy.


Leave a Reply

